About y4m_admin

This author has not yet filled in any details.
So far y4m_admin has created 89 blog entries.

Bianca Chui: Musician, Advocate, Leader

by Xiaoyu Huang I have known Bianca Chui for just over a year, and I have known Tobias a similar time. He boasts a slender build; thin, athletic neck and flattened, oblong torso that accompanies Bianca wherever she went. By day, she is an Second Year International Baccalaureate Diploma student at Sir Winston Churchill Secondary

Newest Olympic Sport….Poetry!?

by Céline Peterson The years? 1912-1948. That was the last time that the arts were represented in the Olympic games. Yes, it’s true - there were medals given out for art forms such as music, sculpture, and literature. There are very few people today who would remember that this used to be the case. However,

Highlight On National Youth Leadership: David Lee

by Sarah Veber  The music industry can be a difficult one to navigate, especially beyond the safety net that post secondary institutions provide. To David Lee, music education involves more than just mastering an instrument. It’s about providing performance and networking opportunities to young musicians who are trying to make it big after graduation. This

Community Music, the new form of music education?

Community music, though it may be an unfamiliar concept to many, has deep roots in many societies. From singing around a campfire to improvising music together with different instruments, community music takes on many forms. May Chook, currently working from her studio in Toronto, has taken an interest in this unique field of music in

Highlight on National Youth Leadership: Xiaoyu Huang

An accomplished pianist, Xiaoyu Huang began his studies in China before coming to Canada at the age of 8. He went on to receive an ARCT in piano performance from the Royal Conservatory of Music at age 12. As a performer, he has partnered with Canadian composer Spencer Tsai to premier unpublished works and has

Music Monday Spotlight on Youth: Sophie Perey

Individuals comprising the Youth4Music network are active in communities across the nation, planning outreach events to advocate for our collective belief in the value of music education. Sophie Perey, a passionate young leader from Prince Edward island, played an important role in the highly successful Music Monday events in Summerside. Sophie’s love for singing, acting

Highlight on National Youth Leadership: Sarah Veber

Originally from Newfoundland, Sarah Veber is currently pursuing a BMus in Harp Performance paired with Science Studies at the University of Ottawa. As an up-and-coming harpist, some highlights to date include appearing as guest soloist with the String’s of St. John’s, performing as principal harpist with the Newfoundland Symphony Youth Orchestra for four seasons and

NUFSICISUM Interview (James Klassen)

From Winnipeg, James Klassen is one of five 2016 NUFSICISUM winners from across Canada. Recognized for his leadership qualities through music, James recalls musical experiences and opportunities which have helped to distinguish him as a Youth4Music Ambassador. Beginning piano lessons early on, James understands the benefit of having had access to music education at an

Go to Top

About y4m_admin

This author has not yet filled in any details.
So far y4m_admin has created 89 blog entries.

Nouveau Sport Olympique… Poésie!?

Céline Peterson Les années 1912-1948. Ce fut la dernière fois que les arts furent représentés aux Jeux Olympiques. Oui, c'est vrai - il y avait remise de médailles pour les formes d'art comme la musique, la sculpture et la littérature. Très peu de gens aujourd'hui se souviennent que ce fut déjà le cas. Cependant, ma

Leadership National des Jeunes: David Lee

Sarah Veber  L'industrie de la musique peut être difficile à naviguer, surtout au-delà du filet de sûreté que fournissent les institutions post-secondaires. Pour David Lee, l'enseignement de la musique ne se réduit pas à la maîtrise d'un instrument. Il s'agit aussi de fournir des opportunités de performances et de réseautage aux jeunes musiciens qui travaillent

Entrevue Émancipation des femmes par la musique Kat McLevey, chanteuse/auteure-compositrice de St-Jean, Terre-Neuve

Photo: www.katmclevey.com par Sarah Veber, Ambassadrice Réseau des jeunes pour la musique et Rédactrice en chef, Infolettre du Réseau des jeunes pour la musique Quel a été, jusqu'à présent, l'aspect de votre carrière le plus significatif et gratifiant pour vous personnellement? "Chaque fois que j'entends dire qu'un(e) jeune musicien(ne) a été inspiré(e) à composer et

La musique communautaire – transformer la société par l’éducation musicale?

La musique communautaire, même si elle peut être une notion qui demeure étrangère pour beaucoup, a de profondes racines dans de nombreuses sociétés. Qu'il s'agisse de chanter autour d'un feu de camp, ou improviser de la musique ensemble avec des instruments différents, la musique communautaire prend diverses formes. May Chook, travaillant actuellement à partir de

Pleins feux sur nos leaders jeunesse nationaux: Xiaoyu Huang

Un pianiste accompli, Xiaoyu Huang a commencé ses études en Chine avant de venir au Canada à l'âge de 8 ans. Il a obtenu son diplôme en interprétation au piano (ARCT) du Conservatoire Royal de Musique, à l'âge de 12 ans. Comme interprète, il s'est associé avec le compositeur canadien Spencer Tsai pour introduire des

Lundi en Musique, plains faux sur la jeunesse: Sophie Perey

Les gens qui forment le Réseau des jeunes pour la musique sont activement impliqués dans leurs communautés à travers le pays, planifiant des événements visant à représenter notre vision commune sur la valeur de l'éducation musicale. Sophie Perey, une jeune leader passionnée de l'Île-du-Prince-Édouard, a joué un rôle primordial dans le succès des célébrations du

Faits saillants du Leadership national des jeunes: Sarah Veber

Originaire de Terre-Neuve, Sarah Veber poursuit actuellement un B.Mus. en harpe, doublé d'une étude en sciences à l'Université d'Ottawa. Harpiste de la relève, elle a déjà quelques accomplissements à son actif, dont le rôle de harpiste soliste principale invitée par l'Orchestre à cordes de St-Jean, harpiste principale avec l'Orchestre symphonique des jeunes de Terre-Neuve durant

Entrevue NUFSICISUM (James Klassen)

Vivant à Winnipeg, James Klassen est l'un des cinq récipiendaires d'un prix  NUFSICISUM 2016 à travers le Canada. Reconnu pour ses qualités de leadership à travers la musique, James se souvient des expériences musicales et des opportunités qui l'ont aidé à se distinguer comme Ambassadeur du Réseau des Jeunes pour la Musique. Débutant des cours

Go to Top